With seven of the nine Little Hawkeye Confernce teams in attendance, Pella finished first for the third time in eight days. The only conference teams not in attendance were Boone and Norwalk.

While Knoxville’s Thomas Hlad and Kevin Coy finished 1st and 2nd, Pella’s pack attack was once again solid enough for the victory. Walker Bell finished 5th, Andrew Bentz 7th, Adam Verhoef 9th, Trey Behning 10th, Zach Wittenberg 17th, Nathan Buchheit 18th, and Phil Visser 34th.

“The boys showed pure strength this evening,” said Coach Cutler after the race. “This race was a direct result of the miles run during the summer. Three races in eight days doesn’t really allow the guys to race their best, not with the training I have asked of them between races. Our last 1.1 mile times were slower this evening than at the previous two meets because their legs were heavy.”

After the race, captain Trey Behning shared that it was nice to win another team trophy. “We won one race last year as a team. Winning three meets in a row feels good.”

“The next four weeks before Conference are crucial for us,” says Coach Cutler. “These victories have been fun without a doubt, but come season’s end these meets aren’t the ones the boys will remember forever. Conference, Districts, State, that’s what it is all about. We can’t be satisfied with where we are right now. The boys can’t allow them themselves to get locked into any certain positions. Teams like Knoxville, Boone, and Newton are going to improve right until the end. We have to improve at the same rate if we to stay on top.”


Varsity: Pella 48, Knoxville 76, Benton 80, Newton 94, East Marshall 119, Ottumwa 154, Pella Christian 187, Grinnell 200, South Tama County 238, Oskaloosa 299

JV (unofficial and unadjusted): Pella 54, Chariton 57, Benton 64, Knoxville 139, Newton 164, East Marshall 170, Pella Christian 198, Grinnell 199, South Tama 321, Oskaloosa 382, Ottumwa INC, PCM INC

Complete Individual Results


Walker Bell 17:51 5th

Andrew Bentz 18:00 7th

Adam Verhoef 18:08 9th

Trey Behning 18:09 10th

Zach Wittenberg 18:24 17th

Nathan Buchheit 18:28 18th

Phil Visser 19:33 34th

Junior Varsity

Brandon Klassen 19:40 5th

Jon Klein 19:54 7th

Jodaniel Gutierrez 20:02 10th

Josh Hones 20:07 12th

Luke Elzinga 20:59 20th

Jake VanderHoek 21:19 25th

Max Wesemann 22:07 41st

Corey L’Esperance 22:14 44th

Alex Lopez 22:15 45th

Andrew Lopez 22:32 49th

Derek Boat 23:24 63rd

Devin Sietstra 24:59 77th