The boys’ cross country team remained undefeated in 2006 with a two-point victory over Ankeny at the Newton Invitational on Tuesday. While the Dutch are aware that Ankeny did not have their top seven all running, they have no qualms about the victory. Ankeny rested several of their top runners, including Josh Boersma and Justin Olk, in preparation for the Roy Griak Invitational in Minnesota this weekend.

“We had been looking forward to racing a fully-loaded Ankeny team all week, but when it comes down to it, you race the athletes who step to the line when the gun fires,” said Coach Cutler after the race. “The guys focused on who was there and proved to be the best team on the line again. Ankeny has an outstanding program, and even without a few of their top runners this was an excellent race to help prepare us for state level competition.”

Pella scored 76 points for their fifth team victory on the season. Walker Bell and Andrew Bentz finished 9th and 10th for the Dutch in times of 17:44 and 17:45 respectively. These times show the improvement the Dutch program has made over last season, when no Dutch runner broke 18:00 on the course at Newton. Adam Verhoef finished in 15th, Trey Behning 20th, Nathan Buchheit 22nd, Phil Visser 46th, and Zach Wittenberg 58th.

“Thirteen of the boys ran personal bests for the season, so we’re pleased with the times we ran today, but my hope is that the boys are not satisfied yet,” shared Coach Cutler. “We’re capable of even faster times, and I believe we’ll see that over the next couple weeks. The courses at Knoxville and Norwalk are fast courses in my experience.”

In the Junior Varsity race, Pella finished second to an Ankeny team who scored a perfect 15 points. Ankeny athletes took 1st through 6th before a trio of Dutch came across the finished line. Jon Klein finished in 7th, Brandon Klassen 8th, and Josh Hones in 9th. Helping complete Pella’s team score of 54 points were Jake VanderHoek in 21st and Luke Elzinga in 26th.

Complete Individual Results


Walker Bell 17:44 9th

Andrew Bentz 17:45 10th

Adam Verhoef 18:01 15th

Trey Behning 18:09 20th

Nathan Buchheit 18:20 22nd

Phil Visser 19:08 46th

Zach Wittenberg 19:46 58th

Junior Varsity

Jon Klein 19:23 7th

Brandon Klassen 19:23 8th

Josh Hones 19:27 9th

Jake VanderHoek 20:12 21st

Luke Elzinga 20:23 26th

Andrew Lopez 21:09 38th

Alex Lopez 21:16 44th

Max Wesemann 21:17 45th

Derek Boat 23:50 101st

Devin Sietstra 24:47 111st

Michael Fetterman 24:48 112nd