The boys’ cross country team continued their undefeated season at South Tama. The Varsity boys “ran” their record to 40-0, and the Junior Varsity squad is now 27-0.

The Varsity team was led by Walker Bell who placed 4th. All other scoring members of the Varsity team also earned individual medals; Andrew Bentz 7th, Adam Verhoef 8th, Trey Behning 9th, and Nathan Buchheit 13th.

“The boys ran well together,” shares Coach Cutler. “At the 2-mile mark we were 9th, 10th and 11th. That pack moving up together to 7th, 8th, and 9th was impressive given the space they made up.”

Phil Visser and Brandon Klassen ran well to complete the Varsity team’s performance. This was the first race that Brandon Klassen had participated in the Varsity race. Zach Wittenberg was unable to run due to injury.

Coach Cutler also shared, “We have a very competitive group attempting to make our Varsity squad. There are at least 6 boys trying to earn that final spot on the post-season team.”

The Junior Varsity race was won by Josh Hones in a time of 19:49. Also earning medals in the Junior Varsity race were Jon Klein (4th) and Jake VanderHoek (5th).



Walker Bell 18:01 4th

Andrew Bentz 18:14 6th

Adam Verhoef 18:16 7th

Trey Behning 18:17 8th

Nathan Buchheit 18:34 13th

Phil Visser 19:42 37th

Brandon Klassen 19:43 38th


Josh Hones 19:49 1st

Jon Klein 20:14 4th

Jake VanderHoek 20:19 5th

Luke Elzinga 21:08 14th

Jodaniel Gutierrez 21:58 19th

Andrew Lopez 22:05 20th

Max Wesemann 22:39 26th

Alex Lopez 23:02 28th

Derek Boat 23:40 31st

Devin Sietstra 25:41